COVID-19: Congress MLAs asked to counter AAP on testing issue

COVID-19: Congress MLAs asked to counter AAP on testing issue

Chandigarh: Chief Minister Captain Amarinder on Monday directed the MLAs and Ministers to aggressively counter the misinformation being spread by certain anti-social elements and AAP on COVID-19 testing and organ harvesting.

He urged them to reach out to people in their constituencies through workers and rope in Sarpanches related to Congress to lead by example and persuade people to follow all health protocols strictly.

MLAs were asked to take the lead in distribution of free food packets to poor patients who have tested positive to enable them to have enough ration at least for 7-10 days during home isolation.

Chief Minister has already directed the police to crack down on elements misleading the people of the state.

People should be encouraged to identify the mischief makers and inform police, he said, adding that they should be told that Oximeters are no substitute for testing and delayed testing was leading to increased fatalities. The Oximeters can only help by guiding a person to seek admission in hospital when Oxygen saturation levels become low, he said.

Punjab government is procuring 50,000 additional Oximeters to be given to health staff and Asha workers, as well as some of the home isolation patients.

He also asked the MLAs to visit their constituencies and hospitals to establish better communication with the people and boost their morale.

Health and Family Welfare Minister Balbir Singh Sidhu and Rural Development and Panchayats Minister Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa, Medical Education and Research Minister OP Soni were present in the meeting, along with top officials.

MLAs who attended the meeting were Joginder Pal (Bhoa), Amit Vij (Pathankot), Harparatap Singh Ajnala (Ajnala), Sukhwinder Singh Danny (Jandiala), Sunil Dutti (Amritsar North), Raj Kumar Verka (Amritsar West), Inderbir Singh Bolaria (Amritsar South), Tarsem Singh DC (Attari), Hardev Singh Laddi (Shahkot), Ch Surinder Singh (Kartarpur), Sushil Kumar Rinku (Jalandhar West), Rajinder Beri (Jalandhar Central), Avtar Singh Sanghera Jr (Jalandhar North), Pargat Singh (Jalandhar Cantt), Gurkirat Singh (Khanna), Amrik Singh Dhillon (Samrala), Sanjeev Talwar (Ludhiana East), Surinder Singh Dawar (Ludhiana Central), Rakesh Pandey (Ludhiana North), Kuldeep Singh Vaid (Gill), Lakhvir Singh Lakha (Payal), Madan Lal Jalalpur (Ghanaur), Rajinder Singh (Samana), Nirmal Singh (Shutrana) and Pritam Singh Kothbhai (Bhuchomandi)

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here