MLA duo Bains brothers booked after police lathicharge

MLA duo Bains brothers booked after police lathicharge

Patiala: The district police on Monday booked sitting MLA duo Simarjit Singh Bains and Balwinder Singh Bains of Lok Insaaf Party (LIP), popularly known as Bains brothers, along with their supporters for violating COVID-19 norms and obstructing government officials in discharging their duties.

Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), Patiala, Vikram Jeet Duggal said that a case under section 353, 354, 332,186,188,149,269,270 of the IPC and 51 of Disaster Management Act, 2005 and Section 3 of Epidemic Disease (Amendment) Ordinance 2020 has been registered at the police station, Civil Lines, Patiala.

About 1500 persons reached the venue under the leadership of Bains brothers in buses as well as in a large numbers of other four-wheelers. They were requested by police officers and duty magistrate to not organize such a gathering since prohibitory orders were in force on account of COVID-19 pandemic.

Lok Insaaf party had given a call to gather at PUDA ground, Patiala to organize a protest march seeking removal of Punjab cabinet minister Sadhu Singh Dharamsot from the state cabinet on the issue of alleged irregularities in the post-matric scholarship scheme for the students of the Scheduled Castes.

According to the police version, the protesters flouted the orders issued by the District Magistrate Patiala by going ahead with their protest march plan. They were stopped at Polo ground, Patiala where again they were requested by senior police officers and the duty magistrate to stop. But they started pushing and misbehaving with police officials deployed for maintaining the law and order and attacked them.

During this attack police Sub-Inspector Balwan Singh along with four other police personnel including two women constables got injured and. They were discharged from the hospital after treatment. After failing to stop the protesters, the police resorted to lathicharge after taking due orders from the duty magistrate to disperse them.

Those nominated in the case included Simarjit Singh Bains, Balwinder Singh Bains, Navdeep Singh, Gagandeep Singh, Preetinder Singh, Manvinder Singh, Jagjodh Singh, Preetinder Singh, Manjit Singh, Jaswinder Singh, Phulpreet Singh, Sukhdev Singh,Randhir Singh, Gurmit Singh, Rajinder Singh khaira, Bhim Singh, Laxman Singh, Amarjit Kaur, Kamaljit Kaur, Amrik Singh Khalsa and 300 unknown persons.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here